back to article NASA signs deals to put a rocket under Artemis flights until 2029

NASA has picked an engine supplier for its controversial Space Launch System (SLS) program weeks after an audit chastised the space agency for blowing its budget. The space agency said on Saturday it will plunge $1.79bn into a new order of 18 RS-25 engines from Aerojet Rocketdyne. The engine, which was originally developed for …

1. Rameses Niblick the Third Kerplunk Kerplunk Whoops Where's My Thribble?

"The same reliable engines that launched more than 100 space shuttle missions have been modified to be even more powerful to launch the next astronauts who will set foot on the lunar surface during the Artemis missions."

I hope this is simply an oversimplification. Surely we all know that if you take a reliable engine and modify it to create more power, the reliability of said engine take a natural hit?

But then I'm not a rocket scientist.

1. John Robson Silver badge

Yes - a modified design is, by definition, not the same design.

Hence the requirement to freeze the F9 Block 5 design for human flight.

But it does inherit a significant amount of the testing of previous versions, and remember that the engines went through several iterations during the shuttle programme.

2. Steve Todd

Even during the Shuttle days the RS25 was uprated past it’s original design.

They ran at 105% of rated capacity. The new engines have been improved further, and only have to survive one launch (disposable engines at $400 million per set, who’d have thunk it).

1. Sorry that handle is already taken. Silver badge

Re: Even during the Shuttle days the RS25 was uprated past it’s original design.

And tossing all of those engines into the ocean is an absolute travesty.

3. Gonzo wizard