back to article Cosmo Communicator: Phone-laptop hybrid is neat, if niche, tilt at portable productivity

It must be stressed right off the bat that a "phone" like Planet Computers' Cosmo Communicator is an incredibly niche device. It's modelled after the old Psion PDAs of yore, and a younger audience, perhaps unfamiliar with tech of the 1990s, might look at it as a weird phone-laptop hybrid that has been shrunk in the washer. …

1. Dr_N

Deal breaker

"Despite the unit coming with a whopping 4,200mAh cell, I still found myself running for the wall outlet several times during the same day."

Game Over for me.

1. JayBeeDee

Re: Deal breaker

I have been using my cosmo communicator for the last 3 months and usually get two/three days battery life, using excel and productivity tools rather than games. The "secret" is to switch off the display on the lid (CODI) which runs a seperate processor and provide little additional functionality.

1. BebopWeBop

I agree - niche, but rather wonderful for my work and comms.

2. adfh

Agreed.. the CODI is horrible, and battery is much better with it off!

2. Blackjack Silver badge

Yeah, I think the device is mostly pointless when almost everyone has an smartphone and there are mini-laptops better than this thing.

1. Henry Wertz 1 Gold badge

"Yeah, I think the device is mostly pointless when almost everyone has an smartphone and there are mini-laptops better than this thing."

Smartphones don't come with a keyboard, I'm rocking my BlackBerry KeyOne (for those who don't know, an Android device with a physical keyboard) but TCL has pretty much said they don't plan any keyboard Android devices after the current Key2. And mini-laptops are too big to fit in a pocket, while (apparently) this isn't.