back to article Cloudflare goes retro with COBOL delivery service. Older coders: Who's laughing now? Turns out we're still vital

Network infrastructure biz Cloudflare has implemented a way to run COBOL code on its serverless platform Cloudflare Workers. COBOL, 60 years old this month if you start at the publication of the US Defense Department's April 1960 software specification, is short for COmmon Business Oriented Language. Work on the programming …

1. COBOLer

I was a COBOL programmer for many years. Any decent programmer can learn COBOL in a day or two, as long as they understand that computer languages don't all look like C and they don't mind doing a lot of typing.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Holmes

Mindset

Programmers who try pick up COBOL can understand the grammar relatively easily. In my last job I was managing contractors who were doing COBOL programming and for those who were coming from a C like background I felt the biggest problem was that COBOL requires a different mindset. For example, you can't declare variables on the fly in COBOL. Even "Hello World" takes planning. It feels cumbersome to them.

The biggest problem in COBOL maintenance is not the lack of programmers it is the lack of up to date documentation and even source code. COBOL can create such bulletproof programs that they can run for decades but all the "we need this now" changes (like Y2K) don't get documented. Moreover, the original documentation may be typed out and filed somewhere, subject to all the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune that paper is heir to.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Facepalm

Re: Mindset

If you actually wanted to write 'Hello World" in COBOL, you deserve to be shot, then drawn and quartered.

Sorry but that's like using a hammer when you need a screw driver.

1. Allan George Dyer
          Facepalm

I think you've missed the point of "Hello World".

If there's any point in drawing and quartering after shooting, your firing squad needs urgent training.