back to article Google Cloud's AI recog code 'biased' against black people – and more from ML land

Here's your latest summary of recent machine-learning developments. Google Cloud’s computer vision algos are accused of being biased: An experiment probing Google’s commercial image recognition models, via its Vision API, revealed the possibly biased nature of its training data. Algorithm Watch fed an image of someone with …

1. Andy Non Silver badge
    Terminator

ED 209

Please put down your weapon, you have 20 seconds to comply...

But I'm a doctor, and this is a temperature gun.

You now have 15 seconds to comply...

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

It is probably more that visible light is biased against black people. And dogs. And cars. And … All of these things are harder to photograph well. So the average photograph generally isn't very good. And if you are using average photographs to train your AI you will get worse results with black people. And dogs. And cars. And....

1. Giles C Silver badge

A friends dog is biased against black dogs (he is a white Staffordshire terrier), other dogs no issue, black dogs doesn’t like.

They reckon is because is it harder to read the intent of a black dog as opposed to a lighter colour fur, presumably this is down to when you see the teeth you can’t tell if it is yawning, having its tongue hang out or getting ready to fight, and you can’t see the eyes against the fur....

So perhaps the data set was trained using dogs.....

2. a_yank_lurker

Photographic Quality