back to article Escape From Tarkov: Hardest of the hardcore looter-shooter is spellbinding despite the punishing learning curve

Greetings, traveller, and welcome back to The Register Plays Games, our monthly gaming column. For the first time we feature a multiplayer title, and not a particularly forgiving one at that. I don't know why, I'm not even good at video games despite dedicating a chunk of my scant free time to playing them. Want to squad up? …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Pay to win

"Each level has increased starting gear and stash space."

Which is why I can't get behind this one and will wait for some other company to create this. Nobody is paying attention to how valuable that stash space is. Having the choice of keeping extra semi-helpful health items is a large advantage in this game, just like DayZ.

1. Excellentsword (Written by Reg staff)

Re: Pay to win

Yeah, it's not P2W.

2. arenthor

Re: Pay to win

So I'm a long term Tarkov vet, been playing since alpha.

I do agree stash space is valuable and only gets more so into the mid/late stage of the wipes.

However with the hideout now even a base edition person can now have the same size stash as me with edge of darkness addition.

The extra equipment becomes less useful each raid as a lot of the starting items we got for say quest turn ins are now "Find in raid" which these items don't count as.

2. Pascal Monett Silver badge

Thanks, I'll stay on 7 Days To Die

That is a fun game, constantly improving, and I can have a server set to my preferences where only me and my friends can play.

I've played Battlefield 2 long enough to know that your worst enemy is the arsehole on your side that shoots you because you got to the plane first. Thank you very much, but I do not have the time or the patience to waste on playing with arseholes I don't know.

The goal is to enjoy myself ? That's why I only play with people I've met face-to-face.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward