back to article Google and IBM square off in Schrodinger’s catfight over quantum supremacy

Just before Christmas, Google claimed quantum supremacy. The company had configured a quantum computer to produce results that would take conventional computers some 10,000 years to replicate - a landmark event. Bollocks, said IBM - which also has big investments both in quantum computing and not letting Google get away with …

1. Teiwaz

Schrodinger? Oh, goody

Can we literally put Google and IBM in a box with poison and a decaying isopope???

1. iron Silver badge

> a decaying isopope???

Holy Radiation, Batman!

1. Chemist

Seems my post still hasn't made it yet

"isopope???"

Being a chemist I assume an isopope is a pope with limbs etc in a different arrangement

1. Rich 11

Re: Seems my post still hasn't made it yet

Being an anti-theist I would be happy to help you create this rearrangement.

"Paging Dr Moreau, paging Dr Moreau. Please bring your squid to the white courtesy telephone."

1. Frumious Bandersnatch

Only, the telephone is a lobster. I see what you were almost trying to do there.

Real Madrid: 1

Surreal Madrid: Fish

2. macjules

Nah, 'isopope' is a new international standard for Popes.

1. Tail Up

сука ржунимагу бляя аххахахаха!!!11

2. Muscleguy

Nah, 'isopope' is a new international standard for Popes.

As in 'meet the new pope, same as the last pope'.

3. MyffyW Silver badge

Maybe it's a Pope with different arrangement of chromosomes. How about two Xs? Go on, what's the worst that could happen...?

[oh, yeah about that collapsing probability wave]

1. Dolvaran

Didn't that already happen (albeit quite some time ago)?

2. RegGuy1 Silver badge

Good to see the private sector investing heavily in the research for this technology. If it pays off it could be a big win. Of course the money will all be wasted.