back to article The time PC Tools spared an aerospace techie the blushes

Welcome to Who, Me?, The Register's weekly dive into the murky waters of the reader confession pool. Read on to see if this week's tale triggers a guilty memory or two from you. Today's story from "Art" takes us back three decades to the closing of the 1980s. Knight Rider was a receding memory while Baywatch had only just …

1. BebopWeBop
    Happy

A business-critical SPF - replicate it - who would have thunk?

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. jake Silver badge

To be fair ...

... in the late 1980s many businesses didn't yet realize that a PC could, in fact, be business critical ... even when they blatantly were. This was especially true of mainframe houses.

1. Halfmad
        Facepalm

Re: To be fair ...

and in the 90s the engineering firm I was an apprentice at didn't realise the one A0 plotter we had was business critical despite everyone using it day in, day out. Until of course it packed in during a large print run.

The solution? Should at the lowly engineering apprentice who's somehow ended up doing all of the IT for the company..

Some things never change!

1. Nunyabiznes

To be fair...

Even today businesses don't realize computers are business critical, at least based on how IT is treated at places I've worked.

1. The Oncoming Scorn Silver badge
            Coat

That's why the principle IT Team (Back Office etc) has just been replaced\supplanted by the field techs at my place of work (Who also seem amazed that they should have to do things like triaging tickets\emails & telling managers what new\returning employees AD credentials are & updating the tickets themselves is an optional task) .

Much hilarity for the outgoing team as things have already started to go wrong (In a Mischief Theatre style) three fifths of the knowledge has now gone from site.

Icon - Me getting me coat as I'll be gone by Feb end or sooner.

1. Kiwi
              Pint