back to article FUSE for macOS: Why a popular open source library became closed source and commercially licensed

In May this year, users of popular open source project FUSE for macOS noticed the source code for the latest update was missing. The project had become closed source and was no longer free for commercial use. But as The Reg discovered when we had a talk with its maintainer, there was a very good reason for that – and it's not a …

1. trevorde Silver badge
    Thumb Up

Bus factor

Being a software dev, I totally agree with what he's done but the 'bus factor' (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bus_factor) for the project is now 1...

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Bus factor

The bus factor was already 1 because there has only been him on the team. If it were that easy to pick up then others would have done so.

1. John Robson Silver badge

Except with the source being closed noone *can* pick it up now...

At least with the open model someone *could* have done.

I fully support his decision though - meals need to get paid for.

1. DavCrav

"Except with the source being closed noone *can* pick it up now..."

Yes they can: go back to the last open version and do it yourself. And also it depends on whether he's put the code in escrow rather than just on his computer.

The point is that the new code can't be... It would need to be redeveloped from scratch.

He's forked at the point where he has added a rather useful feature set (and presumably put quite a bit of work into it). The whole point is that the organisations profiting from his work don't want to spend the money doing the development or provide any remuneration for that work.

So it's gone closed, and therefore the new feature set cannot be picked up by anyone else.

Yes - it does depend on whether the code has been placed in escrow... If I were a large organisation I might well insist on that as part of the license.

1. ArrZarr Silver badge