back to article Diggerland comes to Mars as boffins battle to save InSight's mole

Boffins at NASA's JPL and the German Aerospace Center (DLR) have come up with a plan to save the stricken Mars InSight probe. As a reminder, the lander's self-hammering probe, aka the mole, is a key part of the Mars lander's science payload and is designed to record the amount of heat escaping from the interior of the red …

1. Chris G

Have they thought of just positioning the end of the arm on top of the mole when it is drilling to aid its inertia?

1. MyffyW Silver badge

Have they thought of getting Bruce Willis to do the drilling for them?

As a Chem Eng graduate I still recall with delight the Yellow Pages entry "Boring - see Civil Engineers"

2. lglethal Silver badge
      Go

Unfortunately, it's not quite that simple, the tether that connects the Mole to the lander comes out of the rear side of the Mole and is a thin flat cable made of Kapton (and wires). So you have to be very careful not to press down on that with the end of the arm. You're also doing this based on camera images taken from the Lander or high up on the arm. So you need to be very precise with what your doing.

In the end the team have decided to go with "pinning" the Mole to the side of the hole, so that at least part of the Mole has good solid contact with the hole wall (and the arm will provide some friction on the other side). If you want full details check out the HP³ Blog (https://www.dlr.de/blogs/en/all-blog-posts/The-InSight-mission-logbook.aspx). The Hammering will restart soon, so fingers crossed!

(from an ex HP³ Team member..)

2. Captain Scarlet
    Alien

This is the voice of the Mysterons

Stop that bloody tapping on the roof of my house, its only just been recemented!

3. adam payne
    Alien

So you're trying to dig into a Prothean ruin with a drill, what could possibly go wrong?!?

4. Andy The Hat Silver badge

Mole?