back to article Apollo at 50? How about 40 years since Skylab smacked into Australia

40 years ago today, nearly 10 years after Neil Armstrong plonked a boot on the Moon, another bit of Apollo leftovers came screaming back to Earth: the Skylab space station. Launched in May 1973 aboard the last Saturn V to fly, Skylab consisted of the Saturn S-IVB 212 stage outfitted to be home to visiting crews. Three crews …

1. moooooooo

40 years has gone quick!

good article. I remember it was in the Oz news for ages with speculation rife on where it would crash.

2. Phil Kingston

As a Perth resident, I can say we're particularly non-plussed about the whole thing. If NASA want to crash shit into the ground, they've got enough room in their own backyard.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Happy

Exciting time

I remember that summer, going out 'Skylab Spotting'.

I was disappointed that Oz got the pleasure, though it would surely have made a bit of a mess of the UK if my wishes had been fulfilled.

1. OssianScotland
      Joke

Re: Exciting time

But depending on where it hit, it might have caused valuable civic improvements

1. Simon Harris
        Joke

Although "Come friendly space station and fall on Slough" doesn't scan quite as well as Betjeman's original version.

1. $till$kint

It's even harder to fit "Uxbridge" into that poem. But worth the effort I feel

1. I ain't Spartacus Gold badge
            Happy

I did my best...

NASA came on telly to say,

There'll be trouble in space today.

A flux transfer event,

And our satellite's bent,

We knew it would crash,

We hoped it would splash,

But the result of this flux bridge

Is it landing on Uxbridge.

2. 's water music

It's even harder to fit "Uxbridge" into that poem. But worth the effort I feel

this sounds like the makings of a Clue round.

One poem to the theme of another?

2. GruntyMcPugh Silver badge

@OssianScotlan 'Civic Improvements',.....

.... you mean Coventry, don't you.

1. OssianScotland
          Mushroom