back to article Refactoring whizz: Good software shouldn't cost the earth – it's actually cheaper to build

ThoughtWorks chief scientist Martin Fowler has written about the curious inverse relationship between quality and cost in the field of software development. The user cannot distinguish between good or bad internal design simply by observing the user interface or the features, he observed. This means that poor-quality software …

1. alain williams Silver badge

This is nothing new

I have been writing programs for 40 years, I remember reading something early on about the importance of design: a unit of time spent here would be repaid by 10 less units in coding. Similarly a unit spent testing would be rewarded by 10 fewer units of support once the software reached the users.

Much blame lies with managers who want the kudos of a project quickly delivered but then blame their staff once problems emerge.

1. JCB

Not My Budget

You are missing the "not my budget" problem. Develop the application within budget and working well enough, then everyone is happy. Of course we all know that any project of any scale will have bugs. But these bugs don't show up until after delivery. Bugs get reported and possibly come back to the same manager as supervised the initial development, but he is still happy as the hours fixing it will be charged to a warranty budget. Staff are kept in work between projects and the department has additional warranty money coming in to cover it. Manager and staff remain happy.

1. Doctor Syntax Silver badge

Re: Not My Budget

Budgets only work to manage costs when there's somebody keeping an eye out on the overall budget and, in fact, on other stuff. I've seen maintenance type done n stupidly bad order, presumably by separate budget holders not coordinating so one operation comes along and craps on the new paint job that was just finished.

2. Ian Michael Gumby
      Boffin

@Alain Williams ... Re: This is nothing new

Yes, I agree.