back to article The Netbook Newbie's Guide to Linux

Considering that Linux netbooks are designed to present a simplified interface that can be used by complete newbies, it's amazing how buzzy hackers have become about them. Even people who wouldn't consider themselves hardcore techies love to tinker under these machines' hoods. Eee Simple Mode Yes, from the hardended hacker's …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Mark
    Thumb Up

relauncher

Would not Ctrl-Alt-Backspace work too? It reboots the X Server (rather than rebooting the OS: this is why it is good to have the UI outside/above the OS).

Depending on how the Asus launcher works, you may not log out with your script, whereas Ctrl-Alt-Backspace effectively logs you out.

Nice article and hopefully those who complained about using the command line will see why such things are used and useful

2. paul

Obligatory Comments

"linux is crap , rah rah rah. "

Well with that out of the way, linux comes in many many different flavours. yes the xandros supplied linux on the eee pc isn't that great. But its reasonably stable and trouble free.

I installed ubuntu netbook on my eee pc - looks great. But wireless problems are ruining it for me. Im waiting for ubuntu 8.10 version of netbook remix with better hardware support (open source version of wi fi driver meaning problems fixed in days not months/years)

Meanwhile my HP 2133 netbook with FULL ubuntu 8.10 is superb (it has 1280x800 9 inch screen) - No wi fi problems :)

3. Pierre
    Boffin

Nice BUT

Quite a good article, but for the line "the real hacker solution is to take the supplied OS off altogether and start again with a fresh full distribution like Ubuntu". There are words that should never be used in the same sentence, ever. "hacker" and "Ubuntu" are such a pair.

4. David Hicks
    Linux

As a non-newb

I recommend the Debian Pure Blend for eee