back to article Struggling with GDPR compliance? Don't waste money on legal advice: Buy a shredder

There is, it seems, no deterring the General Data Protection Regulation snake-oil sellers, who will happily stick "GDPR compliant" onto whatever they have to hand – including shredders, bins and visitor books. As Google has recently learned, failing to meet the requirements of the GDPR can be costly – so it's no surprise …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I worked in the public sector when the Freedom of Information act came into force. The shredders were working overtime for weeks before the deadline to destroy lots of paper they didn't want falling into the public's hands.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

No idea why. A common FOI response just drops the I.

2. Test Man

The same bollocks as "digital"/"Freeview" aerial equipment.

1. Lee D Silver badge

Depends.

The frequencies that are used for digital / DVB-T / Freeview now are not exactly the same as those used for analogue TV (471 - 853 MHz in theory but we only had five channels, remember, and so many of those upper channels were never used - I think London TV never went past channel 31 or so, IIRC out of 69).

However, digital TV needs a much better signal than analogue ever did. And even Channel 5 had to have a massive "retune" event pre-launch because not everyone's equipment was set up to receive the frequencies it went out on (VCRs often used the same channel!). So even pre-digital, if you were trying to get Channel 5 you may well find that the aerial you had that had served you for decades was suddenly no use for receiving that, and you'd have needed a new one.