back to article Cheap NAND nasty: Flooding market with chips threatens prices

NAND oversupply is becoming a distinct possibility – with an increasing memory supply chasing a market that can’t absorb all the bits and bytes at prices that provide profits for suppliers. No NAND flash maker wants to create a glut, and each is convinced that they are behaving rationally – although, collectively, they are not …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I assume it would be too much to ask that they turn the excess into consumer SSDs at prices comparable with spinning rust drives.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Of course, no one is factoring in Trump's trade tantrums either. What may look like an glut in China may be something else entire depending on how the tariffs are assigned, e.g. China company vs. other companies, and how they are assessed on internal components, which is not a factor. For now.

I used to be a rabid global free trader. That's gotten defenestrated. Not even close to Trump, but there is a point at which you do say about practices beyond the pale: "Enough is enough."

1. Gerhard Mack

I'm not American so the less you guys buy, the more of a market glut there is for the rest of us.

1. DCFusor

I AM an American, but the sentiment holds for me as well...Y'all save those bits for me!

3. Ubermik

SSD and NVME prices are fine, its the DRAM prices that need to fall off of a VERY high cliff

1. K

Agree on DRAM... but SSD/NVME should also drop. 5 years ago, I brought a 750GB SSD for £300, 2 months, I brought a 1TB for £220.. Whilst there has been a drop, they are still too expensive given the capacity they offer. They'll never be as cheap as spin-drives, but £100-120 for 1TB, is the price-point I would jump across.

4. onefang

“the ASP of NAND Flash will drop by around 10 per cent QoQ respectively in 3Q18 and 4Q18."

I think my babel fish just died of fright. Can someone translate that into English for me please?

1. abortnow