back to article The True Confessions of an Election Official

I am a PEO, a Precinct Election Official in Iowa, working on the 2008 General Election. Iowa is the first Caucus in the US Presidential Election. It's considered a bellwether state and provided the first upset victory for Barack Obama. Although I've been working with Information Technology for 25 years, the IT mechanics of our …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Jeroen Braamhaar
    Thumb Up

Excellent!

If anyone deserves the title "Defender of Democracy" it's people like PEO Pete that enable people to make their own choices about who they want to be governed by.

2. Xander
    Thumb Up

An amazing insight

Cheers, Pete :)

3. Matt Siddall

Title? What, where?

Excellent article - it made for an interesting read.

Might be nice to hear how/if you think things could be improved...

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Defibrillators?

Just how stressful is voting in the US? Or is it a case of "I'm voting for Oba*KZZZAAPP*McCain?

Seriously, though, seemed like a good article. Glad to hear of someone enjoying their work!

5. Sam Liddicott
    Thumb Up

Well done

Well done.

And I like your idea of using the prime directives to allow you to cut through conflicting priorities.

Sam

6. Paul McConkey
    Thumb Up

Write more next week

Great article, write a follow-up next week and let us know how it went today.

7. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Brilliant.

Good job both on the article and at work.

8. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Up

This is what democracy is

Hard work to make sure it doesn't go wrong, and there are oh so many places it can go wrong. Tyranny is much, much easier - at least, at start. :-) Good article.

9. Peter Simpson
    Thumb Up

Well done, PEO Pete!