back to article DevOps: Social, cooperative... It's gotta be really diverse, right?

I've been working in tech for nearly 25 years and I'm currently involved in DevOps – a mashup of operations and development that works well with cloud infrastructure. "Is DevOps more diverse than other areas of tech?" The Register asked me one day. There's certainly a perception that it is – with a seemingly higher-than-usual …

1. Dan 55 Silver badge

women seem to be disappearing mostly because their career grinds to a halt due to lack of opportunities for training, and poor managerial support. Eighty per cent of leavers change sector away from IT or create their own businesses in order to progress.

Isn't this the same for men too?

Maybe the only difference is that women put up with less shit.

1. AnneCurrie

Agreed. I think fixing all of this stuff is as useful for men as women

2. Roml0k

> Maybe the only difference is that women put up with less shit.

This is somewhat borne out in studies of quitting rates (women are apparently 2x more likely to quit a job than men), but even this does not necessarily correlate to leaving STEM entirely.

The only stats quoted in the article compared STEM women to non-STEM women. I would be interested to see comparable stats for STEM non-women and non-STEM non-women before I'd make a claim that an issue is worse for any particular subgroup.

1. Rob D.

Only men or women

I'm going to assume no transgender jiggery-pokery and assert that 'non-women' actually means 'men'. Non-STEM just means every other career area. So for example, the non-women, i.e. men, part is really easy - just take every %-age mentioned for women and subtract it from 100%.

You can have a trawl through this from the IET which is a bit scatter-gun and has a touch of an ideological undertone but it includes all the references if you want details:

http://mycommunity.theiet.org/files/7976#.VbTQ7fkbJ_8