back to article Container orchestration top trumps: Let's just pretend you don't use Kubernetes already

Container orchestration comes in different flavours, but actual effort must be put into identifying the system most palatable. Yes, features matter, but so too does the long-term viability of the platform. There's been plenty of great technologies in the history of the industry, but what's mattered has been their viability, as …

1. Whitter
    Pint

...you can check in your code...

"Hotel California: you can check in your code, but it most likely won't ever leave"

Superb!

A beer icon raised in you honour!

2. 45RPM Silver badge

I’m new to Docker - and it seems like a very useful tool. I’m using docker-compose which is suitably lightweight, and allows me to easily move from one host to another. Given all that, and that I’m running less than 10 containers, what benefit does Kubernetes (or one of the other solutions given here) offer?

That’s a serious question by the way - I’d really like to know whether this is something that I need to pay attention to!

1. Adam Connelly

It does a whole load of stuff, but at its simplest it lets you think in terms of a cluster, rather than individual machines. So you basically end up with X amount of resources, and you just ask it to run your workloads, without having to figure out where to put them. Here's a few things you get with Kubernetes to give you an idea:

* If you have something like a web server that you want to be able to horizontally scale depending on load, you can create a service that automatically creates a load balancer for you, and figures out what containers to send requests to. It can add and remove containers to the pool depending on overall load.

* Linked to the previous point, it has built-in support for liveness (is my container running properly) and readiness (is it ready to serve requests / do its work) checks, so it can avoid routing traffic to containers until they've started up properly.