back to article Microsoft: Our AI speech recognition mangles your words the least

Microsoft researchers working on AI computer speech recognition have reached a word error rate of 6.3 per cent, claiming to be the lowest in the industry. Hot on the heels of Google DeepMind announcing a “breakthrough” in AI speech recognition, Microsoft was quick to respond by saying it, too, has reached a “milestone” while …

1. stuartnz
    Thumb Up

Hic Sunt Dracones

"Computer speech recognition has come a long way"

It really, really has. I've been using Dragon for 10+ years now, and each new release gets better and better. As the effects of my CP become more noticeable, it's great that I can finally rely on my computer to understand 99% of what my thick Kiwi accent says. However, that's not my experience with the built in speech recognition in Windows 10. It's not awful, but it's not a patch on Dragon 15 for sure. If MS's new AI speech recognition i as good as claimed, I hope it does filter down to Win 10 sooner rather than later

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

So effing what.

Be it Cortana, Siri or Jumping Jack flash, I won't be using any of them in the forseeable future.

Add to that the snooping that the all seem to do why would I volunteer all that sort of information to the likes of Microsoft, Goole and the rest.

1. hplasm
      Coat

Re: So effing what.

"all that sort of information to the likes of Microsoft, Goole and the rest."

It's not Goole you need to worry about, it's Scunthorpe.

3. Dwarf
    Joke

I'm sorry Dave,

I can't do that.

1. hplasm
      Happy

"I'm sorry Dave," said Cortana, sadly.

"I haven't a clue what you're on about. And your nose wobbles when you speak, did you know that? It's very distracting. Now what were you saying again? Eh? What? "

4. inmypjs Silver badge

6.3% eh?

More than 40 years of development and that is where we are? A comparison with human performance with the same material would be useful.