back to article Stripped of its galaxy, this black hole is wandering naked in the cosmos

Boffins analysing old Chandra x-ray telescope data have spotted a rarity indeed: an X-ray source that seems to be a black hole, but without a galaxy to surround it. At an estimated 100,000 times the mass of the sun, the black hole in question – at the edge of lenticular galaxy SDSS J141711.07+522540.8, about 4.5 billion light …

1. Bloodbeastterror

If the predator black hole was powerful enough to strip the galaxy surrounding the orphan black hole, intuition suggests that it would also attract the orphan black hole itself, no?

But what do I know? I'm just a brain surgeon... :-)

1. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge

No, the surrunding galaxy would have been stripped by a larger galaxy nearby.

This would eventually result in a more noisy galaxy (looking a lot more elliptical than spiral) and the massive black hole continuing to follow its path more or less hyperbolically around the center of the larger galaxy.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Yes, but it can also attract it in ways that could accelerate it enough to throw it away...

3. TitterYeNot
      Coat

"But what do I know? I'm just a brain surgeon"

Ah, brain surgery. Not exactly rocket science, is it?

(with apologies to Mitchell and Webb:-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THNPmhBl-8I)

4. This post has been deleted by its author

5. T-Bo

re: (untitled)

"I'm just a brain surgeon... :-)"

No, no, no, don't tug on that. You never know what it might be attached to.

--- Buckaroo Banzai

2. Pascal Monett Silver badge

What is its speed ?

Can we measure that ?

Because every simulation I have made in the Universe Simulator tells me that, when stellar objects get ejected from their orbits, they get ejected hard.

If this thing lost a whole galaxy, it must be going at mind-boggling speeds.

3. Bronek Kozicki
    Alien

That's not a black hole

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge
      Terminator

Indeed