back to article Motorola-powered Mac from 1989 used to write smartphone apps

Our ongoing look at very, very old computers still in production has turned up another ancient artefact in the form of a 1989-vintage Mac that's still being used, for the very modern task of developing smartphone apps. Reader “Pascal” says he does most of his work coding apps for Macs, iOS and Windows on a 2012 Mac Pro. Part …

1. allthecoolshortnamesweretaken

Luxury

1987 while being a student I worked part-time at a copy shop/printer. We had one Macintosh 128K or 512K, can't remember, but it did not have a HD and just the one single-sided floppy drive. And used Aldus PageMaker to do DTP. On a 9" black-and-white screen. Using 2 floppy disks, one for the sowtware, one for the file you were working on, and at least once every 5 minutes you had to swap them.

Still, given the cost of a Mac, a laser printer and the software compared to, say, a Linotype system, it was a breakthrough.

</4yorkshiremen>

2. BurnT'offering

Pascal on a Mac

Well done that (wo)man (assuming nothing)

1. Dave 126 Silver badge

Re: Pascal on a Mac

That's a fair approach!

However:

Pascal is a common masculine Francophone given name, cognate of Italian name Pasquale, Spanish name Pascual, Catalan name Pasqual. Pascal is common in French-speaking countries, Germany and the Netherlands. Derived feminine forms include Pascale, Pascalle or Pascalina.

- Pascal (given name) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

1. 45RPM Silver badge

And don't forget the Gaelic Pascoe - common in Cornwall.

1. BurnT'offering

True - but it's not unknown for internet commenters to adopt male names to avoid gender-based bullying. For example, my real name is Cynthia. And I'm a bloke.

1. Anonymous Coward
            Anonymous Coward

I spent a couple of years posting to Usenet (remember that?) using a female moniker. "Gender-based bullying" as you put it was very rare indeed.

2. Somone Unimportant

Pascal on a Mac?