back to article Tech bubble? Pah. IPOs just return cash to early-stage investors

A internal presentation from Andreessen Horowitz aimed at its limited partners, that has to be taken with the appropriate shovelful of salt, has emerged – and the insights it reveals into the “tech bubble” are absolutely fascinating. U.S. Technology Funding -- What's Going On? from a16z Take it with a shovelful of salt …

1. Naughtyhorse

BP, gone?? Noes!!!!1!.. hang on...

I have it on very good authority that there is an (as good as) infinite amount of oil left, so why would BP disappear?

1. dotdavid

Re: BP, gone?? Noes!!!!1!.. hang on...

Speaking as a layman I think the oil that is there will continue to be extracted until becomes too expensive to extract and sell for a profit. This may be because there's not much left, or that other energy sources are cheaper than oil at a certain price point. This arguably is as good as an infinite supply of oil I guess; oil is likely to become too expensive before it runs out.

2. Naselus

"I have it on very good authority that there is an (as good as) infinite amount of oil left, so why would BP disappear?"

Yeah, the Reg sponsored a lecture by some bloke about it, wasn't there... what was his name, Jim Walsall? Tom Wurzel..?

1. Naughtyhorse

yeah wassisface.... bit of a fuckwit if you ask me :-)

2. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Private markets are private

So only those in the club get the profits, and there are rules about who can be in the club.

Meanwhile the great unwashed, buying shares on the public market, or with pensions invested in the public market don't see an of the profits.

I seem to remember that capitalism was good because it efficiently redistributed wealth between losers and winners, tis looks a lot more like feudalism

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Private markets are private

Which is exactly why the SEC has started an investigation into Unicorn funding.

2. Nick Kew