back to article Virty servers' independence promise has been betrayed

Server virtualisation in its current state is pretty much done. The market is mature and critical tier one workloads are absolutely at home on tier one virtualised platforms such as VMware and HyperV. Virtualisation tends to be a very useful technology in larger organisations for what most administrators would say are the wrong …

1. Alistair
    Windows

I've seen this architected.

And then spent 5 months raising every red flag I could wave at everyone on the damned project.

Now they don't understand why changing anything in the environment takes 3 months of planning.

New platform is being built to replace it. I still have my original emails. Will likely end up trotting them out for the next round.

Sadly none of the vendors involved decided to step and admit that it was a mistake to do this...

2. NinjasFTW

What am I missing?

I'm not an expert with virtualisation so i'm trying to work out why its so bad to have cluster nodes virtualised.

The only thing that I can' think of is that you don't want your cluster nodes all sitting on the same host which is resolved with DRS/Affiniity rules.

I know that dba's usually have objections due to disk access speeds etc which is fair enough but I can't think of any other reason

1. Alistair

Re: What am I missing?

Most clustering software (including OS level) requires direct hardware access to a shared disk somewhere. -- in Vmware language, device passthrough. Once done, typically, your VM is now pinned to a specific node. This applies for most OS clusters, Oracle RAC, Vertias, MCSG and a number of applications I've had to deploy in the past.

To my knowledge, RH has fixed RHCS for VMware and kvm environments, and the MCSG for linux incorporated a similar fix - I believe that Vertias clusters now can *have* virtual nodes, but any master must NOT be virtual - I've not worked with them recently.