back to article Chrome trumps all comers in reported vulnerabilities

More vulnerabilities were discovered in Google Chrome last year than any other piece of core internet software – that's according to research that also found 2014 clocked record numbers of zero-day flaws. The Secunia Vulnerability Review 2015 report [PDF] is built on data harvested by the company's Personal Software Inspector …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I wonder how they measure vulnerabilities in Gentoo and Solaris.

Particularly Gentoo, since out of the box, Gentoo has practically no packages installed and doesn't even have the ssh daemon enabled.

Solaris is fairly spartan when first installed too from what I remember.

(Full disclosure: I'm a former Gentoo developer.)

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: I wonder how they measure vulnerabilities in Gentoo and Solaris.

They can't because they are full of BS. Their web site says their PSI is for Windows only.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Holmes

"Gentoo OS" is vulnerability code-speak for Chrome OS. And there's probably almost nothing wrong with Gentoo - the problem is all the flash and other crap Google has shoved onto Chromebooks by default.

Same with the Chrome browser - by itself, the underlying Chromium tends to be highly secure. But when you hard-wire flash into it and start optimizing it for gaming and media streaming, you are bound to expose a lot of vulnerabilities.

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"Their web site says their PSI is for Windows only."

PSI is just patching software. Nothing to do with how they count or record vulnerabilities.

3. This post has been deleted by its author

2. thames