back to article Split decision: Asus Transformer Book T300 Chi convertible

Convergence. Wretched word. But one particularly liked by hardware wallahs trying to convince us that instead of buying a laptop and a tablet, we should buy something that is a laptop and a tablet. Asus is king of the convergers. Asus Chi T300 Transformer Book Doing the splits: Asus Transformer Book T300 Chi To be fair, …

1. Bassey

Love them

I've been using the original T100 for about 18 months now. It doesn't quite cut it as a main machine (10" screen, only 32GB storage) but it is small and light enough to go everywhere and gets used more than my desktop by a long way. I used to use the full-sized USB port on it quite a bit but I can't actually remember the last time I did. Like the reviewer, all my stuff is on a server and in the cloud. It really does make a decent large tablet AND laptop but, due to the size, gets used by like the original Netbooks. Email, internet, the odd edit to a Word or Excel document etc.

I might have to take a trip to PC World and have a look at this and the Chi 100 as that 32GB of storage is now down to 1.4GB free and there is nothing on there I could remove.

2. dogged

" a microUSB card slot" - a what?

I was tempted until I noticed that it's a Bluetooth keyboard dock now. I think this is a mistake. Having the extra battery life from the dock was one of the Transformer range's big bonus points - dropping that and adding an extra power-drain in the form of a wireless connection seems a bit like shooting yourself in the foot.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

spoonerism

by the looks of it.

1. dogged

Re: spoonerism

Do you perhaps mean "malapropism"? The Reverend Spooner rarely commented on USB devices, to my knowledge.

1. Mike Moyle

Re: spoonerism

And this wasn't really an example of spooning in Speakerisms, anyway.

2. Al Taylor

Ooops

That should have read microSD card slot. Apols

Al

3. Desidero