back to article High Court: IBM staff refused pay increases can claim damages

IBM employees who were refused salary increases because they would not agree to changes to the company's pension scheme are entitled to claim damages, the High Court has ruled. The judgment set out the remedies available to employees in relation to "Project Waltz". The project was implemented in 2009 to help the company meet …

1. Warm Braw

I Am Not A Lawyer, but...

Nice to have it confirmed that earnings per share targets don't trump employment law. Here. Yet.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: I Am Not A Lawyer, but...

Yeah, I'd sure hate for the to simply close down.

2. Aristotles slow and dimwitted horse
    Mushroom

Waaaaah!!!! Judge won't play ball :-(

"The Court has acknowledged IBM's right to make changes in its UK pension programmes, which encompasses IBM’s need to screw a proportion of the hard working and talented employees that allow us to compete in the fast-changing technology world, and thereby pay our US execs their obscene salaries."

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

IBM (UK) is not the only UK company that has used a similar "accept a new pension contract or never get another pay rise". Most of the major banks and financial services companies have done similar.

Time to get the popcorn out...

1. Little Mouse
      Unhappy

Ah, crap - You mean it's widespread?

I had hoped that all those cold-calling-legal-firm-cocks would just shrivel up and die once the PPI gravy train had run dry. Fat chance of that now.

4. Yes Me Silver badge

Well, let's think about it a bit more

"...a quarter of UK staff being kicked off its final-salary pension scheme" [in 2009].