back to article Boeing's Honda-FCX-style fuel cell glider 'success'

US aerospace colossus Boeing has at last successfully trialled a manned fuel-cell hybrid electric plane produced by its Spanish research facility, according to reports. The company told Flight International that it had carried out several test flights in the vicinity of Ocaña airfield south of Madrid. A modified motor-glider …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Lloyd

Ummm

Surely the key phrase here is "modified motor-glider"???? Surely it only needs power for the flaps, etc as it.. well... glides?

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Re: Ummm

"Surely the key phrase here is "modified motor-glider"????"

Yes, the keyphrase is indeed 'motor-glider', ie, it has a motor / engine. Not all motor gliders have flaps, and the ailerons etc are all done mechanically, by pushrods, anyway.

3. Kevin Wood

No thermals?

Call me cynical but as a glider pilot I remain unconvinced.

An unpowered glider could have made that flight, without any power source, under a decent cloud street using energy from thermals.

Choosing to do it in the middle of Spain in spring was never going to be that convincing. An overcast day like today in the UK would have been a better choice.

4. Joe Werner Silver badge
    Thumb Up

Motor-glider

Well, big deal. I can manage straight and level flight with a glider (admittedly you need solar power in the form of thermals). Oh, and I need power for the variometer, the noisy electrical ones (with GPS and McCready calculator) are nice...

Still: Fuel cells and engines are (too) heavy and I see this as a big improvement!

5. Ouldbob

oh, hang gliders!