back to article 'It's GOOD we stopped selling the iPhone'

NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden continues to cower in Russia this week as his options narrow and Russian president Vladimir Putin makes it known that he's unwelcome. The musclebound leader called Snowden an "unwanted gift" from America and said that the US campaign to ensure that he didn't hightail it off to some other …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Florence

Translation

My swearing in Finnish is a bit rusty, but doesn't "perkele" mean devil? I know it's more sweary than devil would be in English, but where did that "m*****f****r" come from?

1. Piro Silver badge

Re: Translation

It pretty much literally means "The Devil's C**t-Head" according to a previous post by a Finn.

1. Florence

Hah right, pää is head indeed. I like that literal translation much better.

2. Phil W

I have no real knowledge of Finnish, but it's rather odd that when you put "perkeleen" and "vittupää" into google translate seperately they come out as "the devil" and "m****rf****r" respectively, but put in together they come out as "f*****g m****rf****r".

Either Finnish as some really odd rules that change the meaning of a word when it's next to another word, or something is wrong with Google Translate. I've no idea which is more likely.

1. Florence
        Pint

Doesn't Google translate 'learn' from users' suggestions? I can easily imagine some drunken Finns on a Friday deciding the literal translation did not sound rude enough in English and going for "m*****f****r" because that's the rudest word you hear in American movies?

2. Major N

"Vittu" is indeed the Finnish variant of the C-word.

I once saw a car on the M1 with the reg plate "V1TTU"

I wonder if he knew....

1. Anonymous Coward
      Pint

I think it may be:

"C*nting M*otherf*cker" or local equivalent.

The ideal debate for a friday - What to call the latest f*ckwith that's infuriated you.

Beer because, looking forward to one already.