back to article iTunes Plus - plus user details that is

Apple's much touted DRM-free music download service launched yesterday under the moniker iTunes Plus. But apparently such freedom comes at a price as the computer giant failed to highlight one important point: customers using iTunes Plus will have their username and email address embedded in each DRM-free track they download. …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Igor Mozolevsky

and so what?..

They should've done it right at the begining. As much of anti-Big Brother society as I am, I don't see what is so particularly wrong with this... At the end of the day, I know that the music that I buy, I will not upload to any p2p sites, mainly because I'm not daft and I'm not going to give something that I've paid for away; and as an added bonus I can copy the music between devices that don't support Apple DRM...

So honestly, what's the big deal???

2. Simon Foxwell

Data protection?

I'm no lawyer but wouldnt this be a breach of the data protection act in some way? Is it written in the terms and conditions of the software that Apple will be doing this?

If I were particularly evil I would create a Steve.Jobs@drmfreeapplemusic.com email address and distribute as many copies of this wonderful "Free" music across as many P2P sites as possible.

Why do we put up with this?!

3. Rich Silver badge

Innovation?

"Our customers are very excited about the freedom and amazing sound quality of iTunes Plus."

...rather than the DRM'd crappy sound quality of standard iTunes then? :-)

So, after ....oooo ....how many years?.... we've finally come full circle back to good ol' CD ease-of-use and quality then? How "innovative" and "new".

4. Keif Gwinn

If it worked

I signed up yesterday, upgraded, bought an album... and as of right now it's still not downloaded. I've managed to get one track of 14... I keep getting download errors.

5. Colin Jackson

Er...