back to article Ubuntu for Android: Penguins peck at Nokia's core problem

Nokia chief executive Stephen Elop might be remembered as the Thomas Watson of our time, based on his remark you don't need quad-core processors for smartphones. "You don't need a quad-core phone unless you want to keep your hands warm in your pocket,” said the Yankee CEO brought in to re-float the Finnish ship. If we’re …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

help help

Tell me what and why I would use this, smaller words and shorter sentances, pretend I'm a PE teacher.

1. spencer

Re: help help

Android for tablet computing. Ubuntu Desktop for when you plug a monitor and keyboard in.

Like the Motorola Artrix, but more useful.

2. PJD

You only need to carry around one gadget - your phone completely replaces your laptop or desktop. On the go, you have a phone. When you're around a keyboard & monitor, you have a desktop machine. I've been waiting for the cpu power of phones to get good enough to do this for a while.. This probably isn't it, but in one more generation of gadgets it will be.

1. Chet Mannly

Re: Re: help help

Yeah this would be awesome for travelling, where you mainly do a bit of web surfing, emails, the odd word document etc - except for the monitor part, may as well carry an ultrabook/air as it would be the same size as a monitor.

Like the concept just not sure how it would work in practice...

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

You would use this when people lock their computers from you, then you can yank out their monitor wire, pull out your Ubuntu Computer-Phone from your pocket, connect it to their monitor & use your own pocket computer.

& please don't be so condescending towards PE teachers!

2. James 51

@spencer

The Atrix is the first thing that came to my mind as well. Except it might be less ridicously expensive.

3. alexh2o
    Thumb Down

Elop wrong?