back to article Agency sends contractors' day rates to 800 RBS staff

Recruitment agency Hays has committed a massive blunder at the Royal Bank of Scotland. An email reminding managers to update timesheets in time for the bank holiday included an attachment with the day rates of 3,000 contractors. It was sent to 800 people at the bank. The row will likely deepen divisions between temporary and …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. dogged
    Thumb Down

£2K per day?

Must be SAP.

Fucking thing.

2. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

I used to contract using Hayes

and they regularly sent out mail shots to every contractor in the company (over 800) that contained the email address and name of every contractor in the "To" field of the email.

I pointed out to them that they had revealed to the 800+ recipients, that I was a contractor, contracting through Hayes and what my personal email address was. This was personal data and they were in contravention of the Data Protection Act in revealing that information.

They took me off the mailing list but, according to other contractors, still used the "To" field when sending mail shots.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Cue anti-contractor bile

2 grand a day - what will the tax payers' alliance make of that?

1. dave 46
      Headmaster

Not a lot I'd hope

Contractors are very cost efficient if used right.

Why bother training somebody up for a year, paying their wages as well as expensive training courses, when you can get somebody in for 2 weeks and have the job done?

Of course this relies on several assumptions:

1) It is indeed just 2 weeks and not an ongoing requirement

2) the contractor is competent

3) there is work for the contractor to do immediately (and then leave)

Of course if the requirement is urgent and ongoing, you do both, but I'm sure a lot of lazy managers spending other peoples money don't bother and just leave the contractor on it.

2. DrXym

2k not the norm