back to article Save the whales – with, uh, artificial intelligence?

Bright yellow buoys running AI software have been deployed in an attempt to deter cargo ships from running over nearby whales. Cargo ship collisions are the top cause of whale death, Douglas McCauley, professor of ocean science at the University of California, Santa Barbara, told The Register this week. California is home to …

1. steviebuk Silver badge

Stole

my Star Trek joke at beginning.

Anyway. My limited background in programming is back in 90s in Pascal and COBOL in college. Then C++ when finished all courses in 2000. Now started to try to learn Python (I was never good at programming. Got bored for all those years but a little interested again)

Anyway. The long winded point. I'm no expert but surely this doesn't need to be AI? Is this another bullshit marking "We've used AI". Surely if you're detecting one species you just have that as your reference in the code. The audio listens out, does it equal to this frequency or this list of frequencies or similar. Yes it does. Send data to HQ else carry on listening.

As I type that I wonder if the AI bit is it not having an exact frequency it can match so it has to see if its similar. Surely that's still not AI and just a fancy algorithm marketed as AI so middle managers buy it.

1. chivo243 Silver badge
      Meh

Re: Stole

Indeed...

""This is a triple win for the planet – we save the whales, fight climate change, and promote community health by cutting air pollution.""

Sounds like the six in one knife-o-matic, it flays, it filets, it scales, it juliennes... None are a selling point in itself, but bundle them together? Presto! Instant uptake.

2. Little Mouse Silver badge