back to article Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio: Too edgy for comfort?

My 20-year-old son is an aspiring athlete who spends a lot of time in the gym and thinks nothing of lifting 100 kilograms in various directions. So I was a little surprised when I handed him Microsoft’s Surface Laptop Studio and he declared it uncomfortably heavy. At 1.8kg it's certainly not among today's lighter laptops. That …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

iPad + Magic keyboard/stand

I am far from an Apple fanbois, but having seen this combo when my visually impaired wife (for whom it's a lifeline) I was immediately impressed.

1. Cederic Silver badge

Re: iPad + Magic keyboard/stand

The MS Surface tablets are a Windows based alternative that I've been using for a few years; their detachable keyboards are very functional.

I was contemplating the MS Surface Laptop Studio but the comments on sharp edges and weight have successfully deterred me - it's not 1.8kg, it's 'over a kg more than I'm already toting'.

1. Sandgrounder

Let me fix this for you:

iPad + Magic keyboard/stand are an expensive and inferior copy of Microsoft Surface devices. Whilst the iPad hardware is great, the fisher price OS that the vendor insists on inflicting on its users is a crime (and will remain so whilst touch screen and macOS remain isolated from each other) .

If you are happy with the surface pro format, why change? If you like Microsoft hardware but need some more oomph including a graphics card or prefer more of a traditional laptop whilst keeping a pen for writing/drawing, then this is a decent, if pricey upgrade.

2. J. Cook Silver badge

Yeah. Despite the quirks of iPadOS, my iPad Pro with it's fancy-pants keyboard/stand gives me a very good experience, nearly as good as a traditional clamshell laptop.

2. Neil Brown

SurfaceBook 2