back to article Venezuelan cardiologist charged with 'designing and selling ransomware'

The US Attorney’s Office has charged a 55-year-old cardiologist with creating and selling ransomware and profiting from revenue-share agreements with criminals who deployed his product. A complaint [PDF] filed on May 16th in the US District Court, Eastern District of New York, alleges Moises Luis Zagala Gonzalez – aka “ …

1. BOFH in Training

Interesting sideline

Considering this is a self taught malware author, it's pretty impressive that his malware has at least some defensive capabilities to try and make sure it's not easily detectable.

Of course it looks like his op sec was pretty bad.

Presumably a fully qualified cardiologist will have a decent income in most parts of the world. Wonder if the economy situation in Venezuela is what made him go down this route.

1. IGotOut Silver badge

Re: Interesting sideline

Probably. It's the same thing in Cuba (great country, great people).

The unsuccessful sanctions only really hurt the normal people. There you have highly skilled doctors and teachers working in tourist hotels as the tips are better than their wages.

When there I tipped a very modest amount (in GBP) and I suddenly became the entire staffs best friend. It turned out my tip was almost weeks salary.

As Clarkson pointed out in one top gear episode. That couple of quid you are haggling over for a suit, makes a massive difference to the persons life, so just don't.

2. Warm Braw
      Coat

his op sec was pretty bad

Sounds like his heart wasn't in it...

1. This post has been deleted by its author

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward