back to article Electric Vehicle DC charging tripped by a wireless hack

Researchers from the University of Oxford published details of a vulnerability in the Combined Charging System that has the potential to abort charging. The Combined Charging System (CCS) is one of the plethora of standards in the EV charging world, and allows DC fast charging. Different plug types are used for the US and EU …

1. Red Ted
    FAIL

Cancelling Charging

My experience is that you don't need to hack anything to make a charge abort early, as charging points seem to do it all by themselves!

The likes of Zap-Map are full of review comments about charging stopping early.

2. ThatOne Silver badge
    Facepalm

Security is for the weak!

Yet another case of cheap & cheerful implementation...

I'm no RF engineer, but I'm sure there must be ways to shield the cable in a way that war-driving kids can't wreak havoc, and that a nearby lightning strike doesn't trigger the car's self-destruction procedure (I'm sure there is one somewhere in there).

1. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Re: Security is for the weak!

I think the issue is that that data link is a low voltage AC on top of the DC power cable. Either the original connector standard didn't include data and this was a bodge or they were trying to save on pins/use standard industrial cable.

It's difficult to RF shield the thick DC power cable while keeping it flexible, and would mean you would need special expensive cable.

1. ThatOne Silver badge

Point taken, but I'm pretty sure those are not cheap throwaway cables, so why can't they afford to add a coax for the data transmission? Just because the added cost of a couple cents per cable?

Obviously it's even cheaper to say "we take the security of our customers very seriously (now get out of my hair)" when something happens...

1. Doctor Syntax Silver badge

it's even cheaper to say "we take the security of our customers very seriously (now get out of my hair)"