back to article So the data centre's 'getting a little hot' – at 57°C, that's quite the understatement

Welcome to another edition of The Register's On Call in which incompetence saves a reader's bacon from a close encounter with the frying pan. Our story takes us back to the halcyon days of 2014 and a medical facility where our hero, Regomised as "Chris", worked. As has been the trend over recent years, the on-premises data …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

'Dave's syndrome. Poor bastard.'

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

That reminds me...

of something very similar that happened when I was a server engineer. There was an urgent call from the DC that the AC had fallen over (turns out the seawater feed pipe that drew water in from the nearby harbour had been blocked) and things were getting rather toasty. Our solution was a lot easier (and didn't require turning anything off): we opened the windows once Security had been notified that the alarm was about to go off. Only downside was that they faced a street so we had to post people by each open window to ensure nobody tried to get in.

Temps came down rather quickly and an interim solution (big fan, open internal doors) was put in place until the pipe was unclogged.

Have posted this story before, but always worth repeating :)

1. Wally Dug
      Coat

Re: That reminds me...

"so we had to post people by each open window to ensure nobody tried to get in."

Also, to ensure nobody tried to get out...

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

We had the same idea when there was an AC failure. Unfortunately, the systems were graded "UK Restricted", so security weren't that happy, even though this was on a campus site.

They allowed us to man the open windows and doors for just long enough for us to do as clean a shutdown as we could, and then we had to close everything up again and do an asset check to make absolutely certain everything was still present in the server room.