back to article Linux Mint emits fix for memory-gobbling Cinnamon – and future version may insist on some updates

The Linux Mint team has introduced a fix for a memory leak it does not fully understand: restarting the Cinnamon desktop. Cinnamon is a desktop environment which began as a fork of GNOME 3 and is developed primarily for Linux Mint, though there are also non-Cinnamon flavours of Mint, using MATE (based on GNOME 2) or the …

1. ForthIsNotDead
    Thumb Up

Go Mint

I've been using Mint for about four years now since switching from Windows. I've been very happy with it. It just works. This article has reminded me to go and make a donation for this year - so thanks!

1. julian.smith Bronze badge
      Linux

Re: Go Mint

I make a donation each time I do a major upgrade - it's the least I can do.

2. jake Silver badge

"In a few of them it might even insist."

May I be the first to say "Fsck you, Mint devs"? I may have perfectly sound reasons to not apply a patch at this particular moment in time.

As for the "we don't understand it, so we'll just force a restart", what numpties. Sadly, Microsoft has TheGreatUnwashed brainwashed into thinking this is normal, so they will probably get away with it.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: "In a few of them it might even insist."

May I be the first to suggest you go SCREAM AT THEM FOR YOUR MONEY BACK OR ELSE?

Maybe demand to speak to the manager, too!

Threaten to switch to another OS, even!

Show them who's the boss!

/s because that was a seriously weird post, makes one wonder if some words and/or sentences from the article were just not read at all...

2. GrumpenKraut Silver badge

> "we don't understand it, so we'll just force a restart", what numpties.

Eh, what? This is a temporary workaround.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

This is a temporary workaround.