back to article Southern Water customers could view others' personal data by tweaking URL parameters

Southern Water - British supplier of the liquid of life - botched its internal Sharepoint implementation so badly that a customer was able to view other people’s account details. Reg reader Chris H discovered that the way Southern Water had set up Sharepoint to host customer information as a “your account” style section of …

1. Mike 137 Silver badge

Move along please - nothing to see here

Yet again! GET parameters passed directly to the database without authentication or session verification.

It's about time we implemented at least some basic mandatory standard competence checks for web developers.

Software development is the only engineering discipline in which totally self taught and entirely unvalidated practitioners can be let loose to implement mission critical systems. In fact software development is typically not a "discipline" at all - it's generally performed in an entirely undisciplined manner. Unless that changes we're doomed.

1. sev.monster Silver badge

Re: Move along please - nothing to see here

Not just GET/POST being unvalidated like this, but the client being the only source of validation.

I was able to sign up for a new account on [redacted] using an email with the .monster vanity TLD despite the fact that the client JavaScript forbade it; all it took was inspecting the onClick event of the submit button and running the bit of code that was after a few obfuscated if-return statements.

And what do you know, their mailer can send to the address just fine, even though it was supposedly not valid.

I reported this issue a month ago in their fancy ZenDesk service desk and have not heard a single thing back. Maybe ZenDesk doesn't support that TLD either so my emails and clearly visible ticket have just vanished into the ether.

1. Phil O'Sophical Silver badge