back to article The ultimate 4-wheel-drive: How ESA's keeping XMM-Newton alive after 20 years and beyond

Sure – that telescope can be serviced by Space Shuttle astronauts. But how do you keep one running for years past expiration without a prodding by spacewalkers? Behold ESA's XMM-Newton. ESA's X-ray Multi Mirror (XMM) telescope, named for English physicist and mathematician Sir Isaac Newton, was launched on an Ariane 5 back on …

1. Inventor of the Marmite Laser Silver badge
    Pint

Cheers to all the guys. A richly deserved Beerday glass or three.

2. Draco
    Paris Hilton

Had to look up what "unloading" a reaction wheel means.

From the terminology (I am not a space engineer), I imagined physically swapping out a reaction wheel, which lead me to wonder "why does it take fuel to do this?" Which had me imagining some physical jostling of the spacecraft to move the wheel out of place - which sounded like something horribly kludgey and risky to be doing with a spacecraft.

Turns out, there is a much more sensible meaning to "unloading" a reaction wheel. It means "unloading the momentum" of the wheel.

I know there will always be an argument over what needs further clarification and what doesn't. For me, this was one of those things that needed that extra bit of clarification.

1. Kevin McMurtrie Silver badge

Re: Had to look up what "unloading" a reaction wheel means.

You can use a magnetorquer if you're near Earth and have some spare battery power.

3. Gordon 10
    WTF?

That is the frikkin' coolest Satellite/Telescope I have ever seen

It looks more like some sort of interstellar starship.

Why wasn't I informed of this before?

1. Mud5hark

Re: That is the frikkin' coolest Satellite/Telescope I have ever seen

There's a full scale mock up of this thing in Toulouse. It looks like starwars on earth! Awesome.

1. spold Silver badge
        Pint