When I'm reading the comments on an article I sometimes see: "This post has been deleted by its author". We all see the world through our own eyes, so to me that reads as: I said something stupid or bigoted, probably had a backlash of downvotes, consulted with my PR people and my rabbi, sat sipping Bovril looking out of the rainy window for a while, then clicked "withdraw". I discovered the other day that when I wrote a comment and submitted it without checking it properly then immediately withdrew it to do some more research, it appeared as "This post has been deleted by its author", despite it never having been visible to others.
I know this isn't a big thing but it changes my reading of the comments, it adds a darker tone - maybe just to me.
My feature request is to not display the deletion message if the comment never made it through the ten minute window. If the comment was never displayed to other people, why should they see that one has been deleted?