back to article Qualcomm wins Apple patent case, loses Apple patent case, wins Apple patent case, loses Apple patent case...

Qualcomm has won a $31m judgment against Apple in the US after the iGiant infringed three of Qualy's mobile phone battery patents – the latest ruling in a long series of intellectual property spats between the two companies. After an eight-day trial, a jury in San Diego, California, decided the iPhone slinger had made use of …

1. User McUser
    Mushroom

What a strange game...

The only winning move is to be a lawyer.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: What a strange game...

>The only winning move is to be a lawyer.

As a patent attorney I feel left out. Somehow I have not found this fountain of money. Got any juicy references? M&A is traditionally where big money is found since that is about merging two or more money mountains, not so much in patents. If you have sources I'd be interested to hear.

1. JetSetJim

Re: What a strange game...

I think they mis-spoke, and should have noted "the only winning move is to be one of the lawyers in this fight", although one wonders if the firms get a cut of the judgement in these cases, or just have the joy of billing an hourly rate (assuming they're not employees of either Apple or QC).

I think we should get Darl McBride involved, I'm sure he'd help smooth things over...

2. John 104

Hang In There

Big Q can hang in there. It isn't like their only customer was Apple.

3. ratfox
    Devil

Jarndyce and Jarndyce, anyone?

The post is required, and must contain letters.

4. Michael Hoffmann Silver badge
    Unhappy

Final outcome...

... mutual patent settlement and swap.

And a bunch of lawyers walk away with new yachts, racehorses, private islands.

5. Chris G

With a bit of luck

They will sue each other in ever decreasing circles until they disappear up each other's jacksies.

That'll give someone else a chance.

1. Giovani Tapini

Re: With a bit of luck