back to article India trumpets seventh navigation sat launch

India yesterday celebrated the launch of the seventh and final "Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System" (IRNSS) satellite - IRNSS-G - which rose from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre, in the southeastern state of Andhra Pradesh, atop a Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV). According to the Indian Space Research …

1. Sgt_Oddball

I'm no rocket scientist

So I'd be fascinated as to the benefits of switching between the different fuel types over the course of the launch be it simple financial benefit or if the different types have better performances in the different conditions during the assent?

Failing that I'll just Google it when I get home....

1. OrientalHero

Re: I'm no rocket scientist

Yes, well the breed that actually does the propulsion chemicals research usually have missing fingers!

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

IIRC India didn't have a reliable, powerful liquid engine for the first stage, but their ICBM programme had given them plenty of experience of building big solid engines, so that made sense for the first stage - which is the third largest solid motor ever fired after the Shuttle SRB and the Ariane V boosters. The second needs to be less powerful and more controllable, so they could use their moderately powerful liquid Vikas engine which is derived from the original Ariane 1 motor.

I'm not sure why they then stick another solid on top of that. But they do need a more controllable liquid engine to put satellites into orbit.

India has now mastered big liquid engines and cryogenic engines for the GSLV Mark 2 and Mark 3 respectively, so I'd imagine the PSLV solid-liquid-solid-liquid sandwich won't be repeated.

I bet it makes an amazing noise though - one day I'll see a rocket launch. The Reg should open a travel tentacle for us space nerds.

3. Gene Cash Silver badge