back to article How does a business make decisions? How should a business make decisions?

As a business owner, I want to believe that I have what it takes to lead. I'm charismatic enough that I can usually convince people to do what I want them to do. I am good enough with Google that I can find out many things and I have the ability to learn a great deal about complex topics quickly. Surely I will thusly make good …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Wouldnt it be great if...

People made data driven decisions. Govt too.

Actually they do make evidence based decisions. If I buy this I get a nice meal out of it. If I buy this I can stop thinking about it and go on facebook. If I buy this it makes me look good.

Very few people make holistic evidence based decisions. Hence the market share of Microsoft, Intel, SAP, use of Wind Turbines, EU integration and monetary policy, cars over bikes, etc etc etc

2. Version 1.0 Silver badge

Decisions are needed

Management Decisions have been very important in every business that I've worked for - it's not so much how the decisions are made, or if any evidence, or reasoning is used to back them up - what's important is that Decisions Are Made.

Decisions justify Management - therefore it's vital that they are made ... because otherwise how would Management justify its salaries? Most of the time the Decision is made first and then they hunt around afterwards for the evidence to back it up - it's much easier that way.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Some great observations - but no conclusion

I agree 100% with the opening paragraphs. That's a great summary of how hard it is to run a modest-sized business.

It's a shame the article doesn't really lead anywhere.