back to article Okay IT pros, change happens. But here's your Reg guide to staying in control

When I started my IT career, the organisations I worked with didn't really do formal change management. And that wasn't really a problem: either they were small enough for it not to matter (we just told the handful of users: “We're about to upgrade X”), or the departments I worked in were sufficiently small and autonomous that …

1. Halfmad

That's all great but..

when I worked in IT in the NHS we'd have to carry out major changes during core working hours, when it was damn near certain that something would go wrong, despite us consistently asking to do the work either in overtime at the weekend or at the weekend and claiming the time back (no cost to the NHS..) it was always refused, it always had to be done during "lunch" which seemed to be any time between midday and 3PM.

Invariable things didn't work or had to be rushed. So whilst I agree with everything that's being written, if you can do the work at a quiet period, then do so.

1. Daggerchild Silver badge

Re: That's all great but..

Heh - I see the opposite problem : changes that 'must' be done out of hours that should be done in hours.

Tweak a complicated thing at midnight that causes ripples. Nobody sees any problems (or they see problems that could be instantly fixed by someone who went home hours ago).

Workers then come in in the morning and find some things have been subtly broken for several hours that they would have noticed instantly in hours reducing the damage.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: That's all great but..

I can assure you that in NHS land it is still very much the same. IT and the service desk only operate 8am to 5.30pm Monday to Friday, even though we have a *lot* of community patient contacts out of hours or at the weekend, and then there's the over 1,000 inpatients.