back to article Meet the original Big Data, TED Talk, Thought Shower Futurist

At the Battle of Ideas Festival at the Barbican last year, Claire Fox chaired a panel titled: “Is Technology Limiting Our Humanity?”, and invited me to take part. Panelists could give a seven-minute introduction. It’s now online as a video and podcast. Two avenues looked promising, and today I will give you an excerpt from …

1. Zog_but_not_the_first
    Headmaster

Comment

"As a writer, I find the hardest part of my job meeting politicians, policy makers, is to explain that things today are temporary".

Actually I think the reverse is true. For the first time in history the minutiae of our lives are documented, often by our own hand, and stored permanently for inspection and analysis.

[But not the minutiae of the lives of politicians, policy makers etc., obviously.]

1. I ain't Spartacus Gold badge

Re: Comment

The minutae of the lives of politicians is documented. And has been for years. Even if much of it is secret. Their private lives have been known and more-or-less public for years. But lots of their professional lives get released under the 30 years rule, so historians at least can look at it. Even if us mere mortals have to wait for the biographies to come out to find stuff out. Plus of course the partial information they put out in their autobiographies (usually soon after retiring) and what they themselves spaff onto Twitter and their websites.

New Labour did a lot more "sofa government" and spurned the committees with written notes to some extent. So we may have less on policy from them. Though that tendency seems to have been reversed by the next government, partly as a matter of policy, but also because they had to be more formal as a coalition. Anyway we've now got emails being archived, so even more crap for historians to trawl through.

2. Graham Marsden
    Big Brother

“Privacy is Theft” “Sharing is Caring”

Call Me David and Treasonous May have signed copies.