back to article Gird your coins: A phishing tsunami is smashing into America

The US Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has put Americans on red alert following a massive increase in reports of phishing and malware attacks targeting taxpayers. The US tax authority said in an advisory that so far this year, reports of email and SMS-based scams were up 400 per cent and can be expected to continue in the build …

1. Crazy Operations Guy

Easy way to identify a fake

If an email or SMS message is claiming to be from a government agency, its obviously a fake; governments are too incompetent to use any technology made after 1965; seeing as no politicians seems to know how one of those new-fangled 'comm-poot-ors' work and all.

I worked as a contractor for the Senate for a while, there are far too many senators that have their staff print all their emails so that they can read it, and then have their secretary dictate a response. I personally knew of 5 of them that did that and I heard about several others from the other IT folk while I worked there. One of them is a prominent member of several computer/telecom related committees...

1. a_yank_lurker

Re: Easy way to identify a fake

1965? I thought they were doing well with very modern techmology - quill pens.

2. Jan 0 Silver badge

> senators that have their staff print all their emails so that they can read it, and then have their secretary dictate a response

If the secretaries can dictate the response, why do the senators need to read the email?

3. KeithR

"I worked as a contractor for the Senate for a while"

Maybe that's where these "incompetent" Government agencies are going wrong?

2. Ole Juul

How can I resist?

Here is one which just arrived in my inbox: