back to article Devs don't care about cloud-specific coding, right? Er, not so

Software developers don’t care about the guts of the backend systems that feed their apps, right? No, wrong. Programmers are aware of the data centre and the servers that power it, and probably refer to it all as the cloud. Even Microsoft is trying to shift people to Visual Studio Online to get developers using cloud-based …

1. Nate Amsden

I've been saying for nearly 7 years

Greater than 90% of the devs I have worked with (all of which were working on pretty leading edge new application code bases, not talking about legacy code here!) don't understand cloud, and don't write to it.

Having worked at two orgs that launched their apps from day one in a major public cloud both had the same issues because the code wasn't built to handle that environment and chaos ensued(no surprise to me of course). First one is defunct, second one moved out of the public cloud within a few months and I manage their infrastructure today with very high levels of availability, performance, predictability and the cost is a fraction of what we would be paying a public cloud provider.

Seeing public cloud bills in the half a million/month(or more) is NOT uncommon (as absurd as that may sound to many).