back to article Let it go, let it go ... Sales of games, video and music up for second year

Blighty sales of video, games and music rose 2.2 per cent to £5.66bn in 2014, with games sales alone up 7.5 per cent to £2.45bn, compared with the previous year. Sales were evenly split between physical and digital purchases, according to preliminary figures released by trade group Entertainment Retailers Association. This …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Facepalm

But...but...but....

Home taping, sorry copying, sorry torrents are killing the industry and each film uploaded causes 100 trillion in lost revenue.

1. Ragarath

Re: But...but...but....

Don't be silly, they will spin it as the war on "Pirates" is what is causing the uptake. Not the fact that usually if someone likes something they will buy it and they probably made more stuff people actually like this year.

1. John Lilburne

Games are up 7.5% apparently, and those are increasingly coming with inbuilt phone-home technology, or in-game purchases.

You have £20 of disposable income to spend on entertainment each week do you.

A) Spend it on drugs, and pirate music?

B) Spend it on booze, and pirate films?

C) Spend it on some football game.

Choices, choices, choices.

2. Amorous Cowherder
      Facepalm

They'll have to spin it the other way this time....

"We closed all those nasty torrent sites you naughty boys and girls were using and that's forced people to start paying up as they should have done in the first place!"

Then the figures will plateau at some point and it's back to...

"YOU THIEVING SCUM! WE'RE COMING FOR YOU!!!"

2. Syd
    Trollface

If Frozen is a 'kid flick'...

... then dose this 40-year-old guy up with popcorn and (diet) coke and call him a big kid, 'cos I loved it!

3. TheProf
    Devil

Follow the money

'Disney’s Frozen video, which sold over 4 million copies, 50 per cent more than the best-selling FIFA 15 video game.'