back to article Solaris fix-it firm offers free Bash patch for legacy Oracle kit

A Solaris fix-it-firm being sued by Oracle over copyrighted code says it has stepped in to defend customers not protected by Larry Ellison's firm from Bash attacks. Terix has released a Bash fix for Solaris on SPARC and x86 that it claims goes further than Oracle’s own recent Bash patch. Bash, vulnerability CVE-2014-7169, …

1. splodge

Could the 3rd party access the website before supporting the hardware? I need to know, as I just looked at said site, and who knows, someone might ask me for help with their Solaris box at some point in the future.

1. Simon Brady

I'm no lawyer, but their Support Terms of Use make it pretty clear that you can't access the site for the purpose of giving your customers something they aren't entitled to themselves:

"You agree that access to the Support Portal, including access to the service request function, will be granted only to your designated support contacts and that the Materials may be used only in support of your authorized use of the Oracle product and/or cloud services for which you have a current support contract. Except as specifically provided in your agreement with Oracle, the Materials may not be used to provide services for or to third parties and may not be shared with or accessed by third parties."

Where it gets murky is the situation you've described, where you pick up knowledge in the course of your authorised access that happens to be helpful to a third party sometime in the future. My guess would be that saying "oh hey, I have a downloaded copy of a support article that might come in handy here" is out, but saying "I've hit this problem before and I remember what the fix was" is ok - unless Oracle want to claim they own the part of your brain holding their content, of course...