back to article Netgear XAV5001 500Mb/s powerline Ethernet adaptor

The quest for faster home networks continues, and with 802.11n Wi-Fi failing to deliver promised 300-450Mb/s peak speeds to a lot of people - blame sneaky manufacturers slipping cheap, single-antenna, 72Mb/s adaptors into their devices - some punters, even those without wireless blackspots in their homes, are looking to …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Black Helicopters

especially useful in Cornwall and Gloucester and Scarborough and ...

or maybe not says GCHQ but they then withdrew their accusations, maybe?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/news/8516912/Threat-to-GCHQ-spying-from-broadband-networks.html

2. MHZawadi
    Thumb Up

happy power networking

So I have been using power networking for about 3 years, I started to use it to get broadband to a second floor with out the cabling mess.

It seems that power networking is not getting the development that I think it should, as it is a great way to get networking to parts not covered by WiFi or having to lay miles of cable. But it is good to see that this are moving :)

3. Hardcastle the ancient

Oh Lord

That's more of the HF spectrum drowned out, then. And perhaps 144MHz too.

4. This post has been deleted by its author

1. Danny 14
      Thumb Down

Actually no

I think ban the radio amateur with his huge antenna. You'll be wanting to kill microwave ovens next.

It is all subjective.

1. Steve X
        FAIL

all subjective?

No, not subjective at all. It is objective and measurable. A lot of power line kit violates the standards it is required to respect, and Ofcon are doing Sweet FA about it.

Microwave ovens operate at a specific frequency, and the unlicensed ISM band that they could interfere with was created precisely because the interference from ovens could render it useless. It therefore isn't saleable spectrum.