back to article EMC's Mozy saunters into the UK

EMC's Mozy cloud backup service has arrived in the UK. European Union regulations require businesses to keep their information backed up within EU borders, so Mozy opened its first data centre in Europe in 2008. Now it has a few but isn't saying how many. You can sign up for one of two services: Mozy Home or Mozy Pro. The …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Up

Been using Mozy for a while

I've been using the Mozy Home service for many months now and its excellent, so I'm not sure how its now newly "arrived"?

In addition, I've been paying in dollars, so it comes out at less than the £4.99 quoted in the article.

If only my broadband upload was quicker - just added about 100Gb to be backed up and looks like its going to take weeks to complete.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Thumb Up

Lovely stuff

Have to agree with you there, the service is excellent and am especially looking forwards to the *nix client coming towards end of 2010.

2. Absinthe_Nishi
    WTF?

hmm...

The company I've recently been made redundant from has been selling Mozy's backup service for over a year now... (based in the UK, consumer & business customers in the UK) And as far as I know they have 2 datacentres in Europe; one in Ireland, one in Germany, with all data being replicated between the two for redundancy.

Seems like everything's redundant these days!

3. The First Dave
    Boffin

Wuala

Sounds to me like most people would be better off buying a big hard disk, then trading that capacity for storage with WUALA - a one time fee for the local storage, and all your data in the cloud...

4. simon maasz

One World. One Price?

I too have been using Mozy for a year or so, no problems, unobtrusive, seems to work well. I note that there is now a website at mozy.co, mozy.co.uk and mozy.ie (their Europe HQ is in Cork)

Guess what - all the same price - 4.95. just the currency changes $, £, € !!